Earth Day 2014 – Going green in Kingston, Jamaica

Can gardening be called an adventure? After my experiences in the garden the past few months I have to say, “Yes!” The world celebrated Earth Day on April 22nd 2014. For the past two years I’ve either planted a tree or got involved in some other activity. This year I did nothing – or so I thought. I’ve since re-considered and remembered that I have done something HUGE all year.
Strawberry in Island Vignettes garden
Strawberry in Island Vignettes garden

I finally started my own little garden in the heart of Kingston. In the midst of city life I have reaped tomatoes, scotch bonnet peppers, parsley, thyme and very soon, strawberries. This is actually part 2 of my personal downtime which thus far has focused on ornamental plants.

Scotch bonnet peppers
Scotch bonnet peppers

What really motivated me finally? Two things. (1) For years I’ve listened to persons across the Caribbean talk about “eat what you grow, grow what you eat”, “feed the nation”, etc etc etc. (2) I got tired of paying too much in the grocery for these items. These days I enjoy my seasonings fresh from garden to pot.

Parsley
Parsley

My gardening has become the gift that keeps on giving. Thanks to my dear Arthur who got me started with seedlings and endless trips to the garden store for supplies. Enjoy.

Tomato
Tomato

 

Thyme
Thyme

 

Basil
Basil

Thanks also to my dear friend Kate for her encouragement in getting me blogging again.

Did you enjoy this post? FOLLOW ISLAND VIGNETTES, leave a COMMENT or hit LIKE!

Thanks a bunch for stopping by!

 

2 thoughts on “Earth Day 2014 – Going green in Kingston, Jamaica”

Leave a Reply

