What’s cooking in Jamaica?

Happy Sunday everyone!

I’ve decided to give you a bit of a Sunday treat and let you in to the kitchen with me today. While I’ve been busily setting my life to order, my soul has been craving more cooking time. Here’s a few bites I’m particularly proud of creating. Enjoy and don’t hesitate to drop a line if you’re interested in recipes! Bon appetit!

I just took these out of the oven and had them with some strawberry jam and a glass of orange juice!
Warm raisin oat scones: I just took these out of the oven and had them with some strawberry jam, a slice of melon and a glass of orange juice!
These mini cupcake macaroni pies are a treat for any child - or adult seeking to indulge the taste buds!
These mini cupcake macaroni pies are a treat for any child – or adult seeking to indulge the taste buds!
Baked this baby up this week and had a warm slice with butter - straight out of the oven!
Baked this baby up this week and had a warm slice with butter – straight out of the oven!
Cream of potato soup with some fresh cucumbers tossed in.
Cream of potato soup with some fresh cucumbers tossed in.
A tasty slice of corn pie with a generous serving of stewed peas
A tasty slice of corn pie with a generous serving of stewed peas
Bowtie pasta with garlic bread and salad.
Bowtie pasta with garlic bread and salad.

Please SHARE this post! Also click to FOLLOW ISLAND VIGNETTES, leave a COMMENT or hit LIKE!

Thanks a bunch for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “What’s cooking in Jamaica?”

  1. It all looks so absolutely scrumptious as well as introduce me to foods I have never seen before, like corn pie and stewed peas! You are a many talented woman, Onyka.

    1. Thank you so very much Bunty! I too am discovering my culinary abilities lol. You know they say that necessity is the mother of invention – I’ve found it necessary to start cooking the things I love to eat! Maybe I’ll cook you up a batch of corn pie next time you’re here! 🙂

  2. On a blog you could write something like this as a comment:
    Mmm, looks really good! I saw this competition that I think you would be just the right person for! It is about creating the national dish of your country. What would you say that is for …?? Would be awesome if you could be the representative for your country 🙂 Here’s more info about it:

    http://www.slideshare.net/IngredientMatcher/competition-from-ingredient-matcher-cook-your-national-dish-25773568

    1. Hi Michael,
      Thanks for sharing about this competition – it looks really interesting. Are you by chance entering or are involved in this initiative in some way??! Thanks so much for stopping by Island Vignettes as well!

Leave a Reply

