Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal

Today is a day of renewal for me. Today is the day I allow my mind and body to drift deliciously from slumber to wakefulness. I allow my ears to appreciate the symphony of birdsong outside the window panes. Today there is no urgency in my step. I have captured time and made it my slave. For today only. A fresh cup of tea is fully savoured.

It is Saturday. Today I get to unwind and push sad statistics and stories to the furthest recesses of my mind. Working in Development can take an emotional toll on the mind and body. All the more reason to appreciate an opportunity for renewal.

Early morning in Hope Gardens, Jamaica

The Place

The place is Hope Gardens, Jamaica. Started as an experimental garden in 1881, transformed into a lush, manicured oasis complete with all manner of exotic plants, Hope Gardens has been through times of neglect and care. I was fortunate to capture this moment at approximately 6:30am.

I was lost in a dream made up of soft, green carpet and blue cotton candy sky. Floral closets and palm fronds cast long shadows across the grass in the morning light and a slight breeze skipped playfully through the foliage.

I inhale. Then I exhale. For now, that is enough.

If you enjoyed this post, please click to FOLLOW ISLAND VIGNETTES, leave a COMMENT, hit LIKE or SHARE with a friend! Thanks for visiting!

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal”

Leave a Reply

